2017 APNM Undergraduate Research Excellence Award

We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2017 Applied Physiology, Nutrition, and Metabolism (APNM) Undergraduate Research Excellence Awards. This awards series is presented by Canadian Science Publishing (CSP) in partnership with the Canadian Society for Exercise Physiology and the Canadian Nutrition Society.

The awards series recognizes one outstanding senior undergraduate student per institution, who is enrolled in exercise science and nutrition major programs at participating Canadian universities and colleges. The awards are presented on an annual basis.

The submission and selection procedures are determined by the awarding institution (e.g., the student’s home department) but typically, nominations are put forward by the eligible student’s supervisor. The awards recognize excellence in research and are thus linked to some aspect of an independent or self-directed learning research project such as a final year thesis. Once nominations have been made to the department, the final selection of each award recipient will be made by the student’s home department. The department will select only one award recipient per eligible department per year. The deadline of selection of the award recipient is by April 30th of each year.
The eleven winners for 2017 have each received a certificate of recognition and have been granted a one year free electronic access to Applied Physiology, Nutrition, and Metabolism!

Winners have also been invited to write for the CSP Blog about their research—keep an eye out for their posts! The CSP Blog features content from established and young scientists alike and is a great platform for researchers to generate awareness about their work and engage in science communication.

APNM established the awards to recognize excellence in up-and-coming Canadian researchers, in order to profile the research of exceptional students and provide them with the opportunity to be more involved with the journal and with the field as a whole.

Congratulations to the 2017 winners!
Jennifer Lee
School of Nutrition, Ryerson University
“Effects of Potatoes and Other Carbohydrates Consumed at Breakfast on Cognition, Glycaemia and Satiety in Children.”